About EXPO

EXPO World Fair, or World Expo is not only the largest international exhibition of the latest achievements in science and technology, but also an opportunity to showcase history, traditions, and culture from all over the world. EXPO is held at different locations since 1851, and every event has its own unique theme. The first EXPO was held in Crystal Palace (Hyde Park, London).

The International Specialized Exhibition EXPO-2017 takes place in Astana from June 10 until September 10 of 2017.
The main theme of EXPO-2017 is “Energy of the Future”.

It reflects the preoccupation of the international community with the problem of energy consumption, which is having an increasing impact on our planet. The main objective of the exhibition is to call for responsibility, to foster a discussion and to develop knowledge enabling people to plan and control energy consumption on our planet and to minimize damage to the environment.

Over 115 countries and 22 international organizations participate in EXPO-2017. The total area of the exhibition complex is 174 hectares. 25 hectares are dedicated to the exhibition area, accommodating the National Pavilion of Kazakhstan, international, thematic and corporate pavilions.

 World Universal Expo history

The Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations held in Hyde Park, London on May 1-October 15, 1851, was a landmark in the history of the industrial revolution. Due to the large number of participating countries, it came to be known as the World Expo. The First World Expo featured industrial products and various artisan goods, machines, production methods, as well as natural resources and works of art.


The Crystal Palace built for the First Universal Expo


National pavilions at 1851 Expo

Event organizers managed to capitalize on the hype around the exhibition that attracted up to 6mln visitors (a third of total British population). The idea of holding world expositions was immediately taken up by the French, who responded to Britain's challenge be hosting their own expo in 1855. Since then, expos are being held on a regular basis.


French Expo of 1855

World expos have always provided the opportunity to learn about various inventions and novelty products.


 1862.  First sewing machine presented at the London Expo.

 


 1876. First telephone presented at the Philadelphia Expo.

 


1893. Lightning and electric chair presented at the Chicago Expo.


1889. Eiffel Tower at the Paris Expo.

After WWII, exhibition organizers broadened their focus to include not only technological achievements, but also the discussion of global issues, such as the role of humans in the world, environment protection, urbanization, etc. These matters serve as the foundation for the special expo theme, and each country incorporates it into its exhibit.

2017 EXPO theme is Future Energy.

Nowadays, EXPOs serve as the symbol of industrialization and provide the site for showcasing the most significant national achievements in various areas. Every EXPO attracts millions of visitors. A country's participation in the EXPO is a government-level decision. Intense competition for the honor of holding the EXPO resembles fierce rivalry for the right to host the Olympics.

Что такое ЭКСПО

Всемирная выставка ЭКСПО или WorldExpo – это не только крупнейшая международная выставка новейших научно-технических достижений, но и история, традиции и культура стран всего мира. ЭКСПО проводится в разных странах с 1851 года, каждая выставка имеет отдельную тему.Первая ЭКСПО состоялась в Хрустальном дворце в Гайд-парке в Лондоне. Именно здесь был представлен первый телефон.

С 10 июня по 10 сентября 2017 года ЭКСПО проходит в Астане.

Основная тема выставки - «Энергия Будущего».

Она отражает озабоченность международного сообщества проблемой энергопотребления, которое оказывает все большее влияние на планету. Главная цель Выставки – призыв к ответственности, стимулирование дискуссий и формирование знаний с тем, чтобы люди научились планировать и контролировать энергопотребление на планете, минимизируя ущерб для природы.

В ЭКСПО-2017 принимают участие 115 стран и 22 международные организации. Общая площадь выставочного комплекса равна 174 гектарам. Из них 25 гектаров отведено непосредственно под выставочную зону, которая вместила в себя Национальный павильон Казахстана, международные, тематические и корпоративные павильоны.

История возникновения Всемирных универсальных выставок

Великая выставка промышленных работ всех народов (англ. The Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations), проходившая в лондонском Гайд-парке с 1 мая по 15 октября 1851 года, стала вехой в истории промышленной революции. Из-за участия большого количества стран вскоре её прозвали всемирной. На этой первой мировой выставке были представлены промышленные товары и различные изделия ремесла, машины, производственные методы, а также полезные ископаемые и работы изобразительного искусства.

 
Хрустальный дворец, возведенный для проведения первой универсальной выставки

 
Национальные павильоны стран на Экспо в 1851 году

Ажиотаж вокруг выставки, которую посетило до 6 миллионов человек (треть населения Британии), принёс организаторам солидные доходы. Инициативу проведения всемирных выставок тут же подхватили французы, ответившие на вызов англичан всемирной выставкой 1855 года. С тех пор такие мероприятия стали проводиться регулярно.

 
Экспо в 1855 году во Франции

Всемирные выставки всегда были базой для ознакомления со всевозможными изобретениями и новинками.

 
1862 год. На Экспо в Лондоне представлена первая швейная машинка

 

 
1876 год. На Экспо в Филадельфии представлен первый телефонный аппарат

 
1893 год. Экспо в Чикаго – молния и электрический стул

 
1889 год. Экспо в Париже — Эйфелева башня

После войны организаторы выставок стали уделять внимание не только достижениям в сфере технологий, но и к обсуждению глобальных вопросов, стоящих перед человечеством, например, человек и его место в мире, экология, урбанизация и многих других. В соответствии с этими вопросами каждый раз формулируется отдельная тема, в соответствии с которой каждая страна формирует свою экспозицию.

Современные ЭКСПО стали символом индустриализации и открытой площадкой для демонстрации всех самых значимых достижений страны в различных сферах. Каждый раз выставки ЭКСПО посещают миллионы людей. Вопрос участия страны в ЭКСПО принимается на правительственном уровне. Борьба государств — претендентов на проведение ЭКСПО по накалу и напряженности напоминает борьбу за право проведения Олимпийских игр.