Useful information for EXPO-2017 visitors

Useful information for EXPO-2017 visitorsLocation and climate

Geographically, Kazakhstan is a point of interest, as it is where Europe meets Asia. The country occupies the territory comparable to the area of the entire Western Europe. Its population size is the same as that of the Netherlands.
Astana, the capital of Kazakhstan, which will host EXPO-2017 International Exhibition, spans over 801.54 km2. The city is located on the Ishim river. Within 25-30km, there are numerous fresh- and salt-water lakes. The climate is distinctly continental with hot and dry summers and long, cold winters. Average annual temperature is 3.1°C. In the summer, the temperature frequently rises above 40°C.

Kazakh national cuisine

The national cuisine of Kazakhstan was shaped by Central Asian food traditions. Guests invariably describe Kazakhs as hospitable and friendly hosts.
You should try the most popular traditional Kazakh snacks (most of them contain meat products) to enhance your local experience and get a better idea of the Kazakh national identity:
kazy – the most popular succulent dish made of horse meat;
beshbarmak – translated as “five fingers,” made of lamb, beef, or horse meat with rolled and boiled pieces of dough, occasionally dressed with herbs;
kabyrga – mutton flaps with a side of vegetables;
zhaia – dried or smoked horse meat fillet;
zhal – special hind nap horse meat cut smoked over juniper wood;
shuzhuk – intestines stuffed with salted diced meat boiled immediately before serving.
Kazakhstan also has its national beverages that are worth a taste: kumys and shubat. As for dessert, some traditional sweet foods include baursaki (small doughnuts), kurt (apricot-sized rolls made of dry cottage cheese), and irimshik (Kazakh semi-hard cheese).

Getting to Astana

Since Astana is a modern city with developed infrastructure, virtually all means of transportation known to man will get you here. An international airport is located just 16km outside the city limits. It services direct flights from Moscow, Ekaterinburg, Saint Petersburg, Omsk, Kazan, Novosibirsk, and Mineralnye Vody. Bus No. 10 connects the airport to the city, or you could take a taxi.
Astana is also a major railroad junction, so visitors who prefer traveling by railroad, especially those living close to the Kazakhstani border, can take a train. Moreover, two major highways (A-343 Astana-Petropavlovsk and M-36 Chelyabinsk – Almaty) run through Astana.

About the capital

Nowadays Astana is often referred to as the new wonder of the world, and for good reason. It all started in 1997, when the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbaev suggested that the capital be moved from Almaty to Astana (known as Tselinograd in the Soviet days). In 1998, the city was dubbed Astana, the Kazakh for “capital.” Many towns, as well as local and international construction companies and factories, partook in giving Astana a facelift. In July 1999, the city was awarded the UNESCO Cities for Peace Prize. Modern architecture that incorporates the best traditions of European and Eastern cultures fully reflects the concept of the new capital as the national economic, political, and cultural center. Astana changed within a very short period of time and keeps developing dynamically.

Astana sights

  • Khan Shatyr shopping and entertainment center and the Palace of Peace and Reconciliation, both designed by Norman Foster;
  • Baiterek, which dominates the skyline, symbolizes renewal and epitomizes Astana and Kazakhstan;
  • Ak Orda Presidential Palace, the residence of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan;
  • Nurzhol Boulevard, formerly known as the Green Water Boulevard, a pedestrian area and centerpiece of Astana’s architectural ensemble. It features numerous fountains, flower beds, and national sculptures;
  • Duman entertainment center with its unique aquarium. The center also displays miniature replicas of famous places, such as the Great Wall of China, the Statue of Liberty, etc.
  • Unique Astana Stadium built for the capital’s anniversary complies with all FIFA and UEFA standards;
  • Alau Ice Palace generally perceived as Astana’s sports gateway due to its unique design and location;
  • Nur-Astana Mosque and Beit Rachel Chabad Lubavich synagogue. Kazakhstan’s adherence to principles of religious tolerance, commitment to humanitarian and religious cooperation, and respect for the freedom of conscience and religion are reflected in these two outstanding religious structures;
  • Museum of Modern Art. Its collection features over 3000 works by Kazakhstani, Russian, and CIS artists. Display items represent various art forms, techniques, and subjects.


Sponsors and partners

Media partners

Полезная информация для посетителей и участников ЭКСПО-2017

Useful information for EXPO-2017 visitors

ИНФОРМАЦИЯ О БИЛЕТАХ

Расположение и климат

Сам Казахстан имеет очень интересное географическое расположение. Республика протянулась на стыке Европы и Азии. Это страна с численностью населения Голландии и размером с Западную  Европу.
Что касается столицы Казахстана Астаны, где пройдет международная выставка EXPO-2017, то площадь территории города — 801,54 км². Астана расположена на берегах реки Ишим. В радиусе 25-30 км вокруг города имеются многочисленные пресные и солёные озера. Климат города резко континентальный. Лето жаркое и сухое, зима морозная и долгая. Среднегодовая температура 3,1 °C. Нередки случаи, когда летом жара может превысить 40 °C.

Национальная кухня Казахстана

Национальная кухня Казахстана формировалась под влиянием кухонь народов Средней Азии. Самих казахов гости описывают как доброжелательных и гостеприимных людей.
Самые популярные традиционные казахские закуски (преимущественно из мяса), которые стоит попробовать, чтоб прочувствовать дух государства:
«казы» (самое уважаемое и вкусное блюдо из мяса конины);
«бешбармак» (в переводе пять пальцев — баранина, говядина, или конина, с раскатанными и отварными кусочками теста, иногда ещё с салатом);
«кабырга» (баранья грудинка с овощным гарниром);
«жая» (высушенная, или копченая филейная вырезка конской туши);
«жал» (полоска мясной вырезки, расположенная на уровне загривка конской туши, и копчёная на можжевельнике);
«шужук» (кишка, набитая подсоленными кубиками мяса, которая варится, непосредственно, перед употреблением).
Среди национальных напитков, которые обязательно стоит продегустировать: кумыс, шубат. Что касается дополнений к чаю, то в числе традиционных десертов: «баурсаки» (маленькие пончики во фритюре), «курт» (небольшие шарики, величиной с абрикос, из сухого творога), «иримшик» — казахский полутвердый сыр.

Как добраться в Астану

Учитывая то, что Астана — это современный город с развитой инфраструктурой, добраться до него можно практически всеми известными науке способами. Например, в 16 км от столицы Казахстана функционирует международный аэропорт. Среди российских городов он обслуживает прямые рейсы  из Москвы, Екатеринбурга, Санкт-Петербурга, Омска, Казани, Новосибирска, Минеральных Вод. Из аэропорта до центра города можно добраться на автобусе № 10 или такси.
Проходит через город и железнодорожный узел. Так что любители этого вида транспорта, особенно из близлежащих к границе  Казахстана городов, могут добраться до Астаны таким образом. Также город является местом пересечения двух шоссейных дорог: А-343 Астана — Петропавловск и М-36 Челябинск — Алматы.

О столице

Сейчас многие называют Астану новым чудом светом. И неспроста.
Все началось в 1997 году, когда Президент суверенного Казахстана Нурсултан Назарбаев предложил перенести столицу страны из Алматы в Астану (в советском периоде- Целиноград). В 1998 году новую столицу переименовали – ей было дано имя «Астана», что в переводе с казахского языка означает «столица». В строительстве Астаны принимали участие многочисленные города, строительные компании и заводы (в том числе зарубежные). В июле 1999 года Астана получила премию Юнеско «Город мира». Современный архитектурный стиль, в котором переплетаются лучшие традиции европейской и восточной культуры, наиболее полно отражает облик новой столицы как центра экономики, политики и культуры. В рекордно короткие сроки изменился городской пейзаж, и город продолжает динамично застраиваться.

Что стоит увидеть и посетить в Астане

  • Торгово-развлекательный центр Хан Шатыр, который  продолжает линию Дворца мира и согласия;
  • Байтерек, возвышающийся над молодой столицей, являющийся архитектурным символом обновления, символом Астаны, символом Казахстана;
  • Резиденцию Президента Республики Казахстан Ак-Орда;
  • Водно-зеленый бульвар. Это пешеходная зона, один из основных элементов композиции центра столицы. Здесь вы увидите ряд фонтанов, цветочных аллей и интересных национальных скульптур;
  • Развлекательный центр «Думан», который включает уникальный океанариум. Также обязательно стоит увидеть собранные в середине центра уменьшенные копии известных мировых достопримечательностей, таких как: Великая Китайская стена, статуя Свободы и т.д.
  • Уникальный стадион Астана, созданный к  юбилею столицы и соответствующий  всем критериям ФИФА и УЕФА;
  • Ледовый дворец Алау, который  считается спортивными воротами столицы, благодаря уникальной архитектуре и месторасположению;
  • Центральную мечеть Нур-Астана и синагога Бейт Рахель - Хаббад Любавич. Принципы толерантности, гуманитарного и религиозного сотрудничества, уважения свободы совести и вероисповедания, присущие современному Казахстану, нашли отражение в двух неповторимых по дизайну религиозных сооружениях;
  • Музей современного искусства. Коллекцию музея сегодня составляют более 3-х тысяч произведений мастеров изобразительного искусства Казахстана, России и стран содружества. Экспонаты  представляют все жанры изобразительного искусства, техники и различную тематику произведений.